villamonster.blogg.se

Josh strife hayes
Josh strife hayes






josh strife hayes
  1. JOSH STRIFE HAYES PATCH
  2. JOSH STRIFE HAYES SERIES

JOSH STRIFE HAYES PATCH

Some of it is probably simply the fact that I've "grown up" with the game - I do remember occasionally seeing a couple of new pages of tutorials after a patch that added a new feature for example, but obviously getting all of that content spread out over the course of ten years is a lot less disruptive than receiving a massive info dump every time you level up. More importantly though, I also don't remember ever being flooded with pop-ups the way he is in the video. While I acknowledge that a modern game should strive to do better than making you read pages and pages of what's effectively a manual, I'm generally someone who doesn't mind reading. The latter is something I'd been low-key wondering about for a while, but I hadn't really had a chance to see how bad it really is. I think the two most pertinent criticisms he raises are the multitude of small random bugs you're likely to encounter in the game (animations glitching out, character falling through the floor, a flashing icon that can't be clicked away, a mission requiring a relog because an NPC disappeared etc.), to which I can only say "yep, I hear you on that one" and that the new player onboarding experience basically consists of nothing but walls of text. (Revenge!) Likewise, I would've most certainly been displeased if my character had been cast as a thief by default. That's a fair take, but my experience with the smuggler origin was the complete opposite, in that I thought the early smuggler story was extremely good at making me care and at motivating me to keep going. Specifically, he felt that it was all too reactive and he actually would've preferred to play as Skavak, the guy stealing ships and treasure and being chased by everyone, instead of being the person chasing after him. he started as a smuggler and found that he quickly grew tired of that story as he didn't really care about the events his character got entangled in. Overall, Josh actually had a pretty good time (as I would've expected in this context!) and his criticisms are all fair, even if I don't necessarily agree with everything. Of course I went and watched the video right away anyway.

josh strife hayes josh strife hayes

I was therefore somewhat torn between being really curious about what he was going to have to say about SWTOR and worrying whether it was going to be harsh and unfair, due to those aforementioned (confused?) memories. However, more recently he's been covering more mainstream games that are actually pretty good, so the title doesn't really have much of a connection to the content anymore. He justifies it by saying that he's trying different games in search of the worst MMO ever, which did make some sense in the early days when he was mostly covering very old or unfinished games that really were bad in variety of different ways, and which made me appreciate just how much work must have gone into the MMOs I play for them not to have all these problems. Now, to reiterate: he's in no way saying that SWTOR is the worst MMO ever, or even that it's bad - the title is pure clickbait.

JOSH STRIFE HAYES SERIES

I went ahead and (re-)subscribed now either way.Īnyway, last week YouTube pointed out to me that Josh's "Worst MMO Ever" series had a new installment. Having watched his most recent video on the game, that memory doesn't really add up and I wonder whether I didn't get him confused with somebody else at some point.

josh strife hayes

Or rather: that's how I remember it going down. though I refused to subscribe (or may in fact have subscribed and then unsubscribed again at some point) due to him having some very bad takes on SWTOR. Looking at his back catalogue, he spent several years trying different angles from Let's Plays to guides to personal vlogs, seemingly struggling to find a wider audience, until he struck gold with his "Worst MMO Ever" series, which - despite the clickbaity title - is a thoughtful and light-hearted exploration of the wider genre.Īs I said, I've been watching his stuff for some time. Josh Strife Hayes is a popular MMO YouTuber and streamer whom I've been following for a couple of years now.








Josh strife hayes